13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1943, and Present Ministries as at Dec. 31, 1943

Nors.—The Lieutenant-Governor of a province is styled "His Honour" and is also styled "Honour able" throughout his life. Where a knighthood or other honour was conferred during the term of office, it is shown. Many Lieutenant-Governors were knighted after their term had expired. Legislatures and Ministries from Confederation to 1923 will be found at pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book, and for 1924-37 at pp. 110-118 of the 1938 Year Book. When two or more dates are shown for the appointment of a Minister, the first denotes the original appointment to the Ministry and the second or last to the portfolio held at present.

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission		
William Robinson Sir Robert Hodgson Thomas H. Haviland Andrew Archibald Macdonald Jedediah S. Carvell George W. Howlan P. A. McLityre D. A. Mackinnon	July 4, 1874 July 10, 1879 July 18, 1884 Sept. 2, 1889 Feb. 21, 1894 May 23, 1899	A. C. Macdonald Murdock McKinnon Frank R. Heartz Charles Dalton George D. DeBlois	June 3, 1915 Sept. 2, 1919 Sept. 8, 1924 Nov. 19, 1930 Dec. 28, 1933		

TWENTY-SECOND MINISTRY

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 15, 1943: 20 Liberals, 10 Conservatives.)

Office	Name		Date of Appointment		
Premier, Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Education. President of the Executive Council. Attorney and Advocate General. Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and Minister of Public Wolfare. Minister of Public Works and Highways. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. W. F. Alan Stewart. Hon. Mark R. MacGuigan. Hon. William Hughes. Hon. George H. Barbour. Hon. Horace Wright. Hon. John A. Campbell. Marin Gallant.	May Apr. May May May Aug. Aug.	11, 1943 8, 1943 11, 1943 11, 1943 11, 1943 11, 1943 15, 1935 15, 1935		

NOVA SCOTIA

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name		Date of Commission		Name	Date of Commission		
LtGen. Sir William F. Williams Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle LtGen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle Joseph Howe Sir Adams G. Archibald Matthew Henry Richey A. W. McLelan Sir Malachy Bowes Daly Sir Malachy Bowes Daly Alfred G. Jones Duncan C. Fraser	Oct. Jan. May July July July July July July July Jul	18, 31, 4, 4, 9, 11, 29, 26,	1867 1868 ¹ 1873 1873 1883 1888 1890 1895 ¹ 1900	David MacKeen MacCallum Grant MacCallum Grant J. Robson Douglas James C. Tory Frank Stanfield Walter H. Covert Robert Irwin Frederick F. Mathers, K.C.	Oct. Nov. Mar. Jan. Sept. Nov. Oct. Apr. May	19, 29, 21, 12, 14, 19, 5, 7,	1915 1916 1922 1925 1925 1930 1931 1937 1940

¹ Second term .